City Council of Bratislava, the Capital City of the Slovak republic is the legislative body of the local government. It is also the city’s parliament (the representative body of the residents of Bratislava), which makes decisions on all important citywide issues. It has 45 members elected by the residents of the city in direct elections for a 4-year term; the members form parliamentary groups. The borough mayors, but not the Mayor, may also be a Member of the Council


  • The City Council is in session as necessary, but at least once every three months (pursuant to Act of the Slovak National Council no. 369/1990 Coll. on Municipal Establishment, as amended).
  • Meetings are convened and chaired by the Mayor, are essentially open to the public and the venue is indicated in the invitation.
  • Any resident of Bratislava may present his or her suggestion, proposal or complaint at the meeting.